I know I'm not one for morals, but...

16 June 2004 || 6:55 pm

This is terrible. It makes me sick.

Usually I'm not one for morals, since I think ethics very from person to person and it's difficult to determine which is "right."

But you're going to give cancer patients palcebos? What kind of a sick fuck are you?

I understand drugs have to be tested in order to determine their effectiveness, but this isn't a pill to lower your cholesterol or increase your sex drive. This is cancer. These are people who are on their last hope, and you're going to give them a fucking placebo?

I guess the idea is that if your tumor grows 20% and you are on a placebo, you can be switched to the actual medication, but...

What if your tumor grows 50% between CT scans? 60%? 70%?

What if you're told the drug is supposed to give you at least (or even at most) another few months, but since it's a placebo, you die after a month?

Who wants to put a doctor in the position to explain to a greiving widow/mother/daughter that her husband/son/father died and the last little piece of hope they held on to for the last month wasn't real?

I'm just really disgusted. Cancer is not the place for a sugar pill. NO other cancer meds on the market today required a placebo test.

I think this is just terrible.

back || next