and what a morning it was

12 August 2004 || 1:30 pm

Wow.

What a morning.

I get up a little after 10, and eat some breakfast. I get in the shower a little before 11:30. I get out of the shower and instead of getting dressed in the bathroom like I usually do, I wrap a towel around myself and sit down at the computer.

About 11:50, the phone rings. It's Ben. We talk for 10, 15 minutes. I hang up the phone, and stand in the kitchen, watching "Full House."

The doorbell rings. We are expecting two packages, so I assume that's what it is, and I duck behind a wall, since I'm still wearing a towel and I don't think the UPS man needs to see me in a towel.

Then, there's a knock at the door. Strange, since delivery men don't usually wait for someone to answer the door unless there's a package that needs to be signed for (which, by the way, would not include wallpaper or a t-shirt, the packages we are expecting).

I peek out the window to see who it is. I wouldn't want to have to stand in a towel talking to some Jehovah's Witnesses, since I, unlike my grandmother, do not have the charasmatic skills to sell one of them my washing machine.

When what to my wondering eyes should appear, but...a cop car.

Then I hear a man's voice coming from the back of the house. "Hello? Hello?"

I leap into the bathroom and respond to him through the screen. He asks if everything is ok and tells me to go get dressed and meet him out front.

Long story short (sort of) he tells me there was a 911 call from my house.

Strange since I hadn't even touched the phone except to answer it, and then hang it up again.

The cop leaves and I call my dad, who calls the police station to figure out what happened.

The call came from our fax machine, which is bizarre since even though the machine is a telephone/fax thingie, my dad set it up so it's only used as a fax and not a phone.

And, not only did that happen, but apparently, this is the second time that phone has called 911 in the past two days.

Which leads me to my next question...

If this is the second time there's been a 911 call from my house, how come it's the first time someone actually responded to it?

back || next