New Year...and my English Essay

01 January, 2003 || 6:42 pm

Okay, yeah, yeah, yeah - I need to update. It's the New Year. Woo.

I had so very much fun last night. So very much fun. Fun fun fun. Yay.

Blah.

Homework is poopy. Bio is poopy. Jaa.

So I wrote my english essay. I don't know if she'll want more than this, so I'll ask her, tomorrow. Tell me what y'all think (for length compared to yours etc.)

�Twas the day after Christmas, the cold wind, it did blow,
I looked out the window and saw only snow.
The shovels had hung in the garage since last year
And my parents had plans that filled me with fear.

"We�ve purchased you gifts, and we�ll shovel too?
No! We�ve done quite enough, clearing snow is for YOU!"
"Don�t complain," they said, "here�s your coat and your cap."
Then they went upstairs to take a nap.

I went out to the lawn with my shovel in hand
And grumbled that this was not the day I had planned.
My feet, calves, and knees were buried, and could not be seen,
While neighbors around me cleared snow with machines.

The snow in my gloves, down my coat, on my face,
Made me wish that I lived in a much warmer place.
My arms and my back, they ached and they ached,
My ankles were freezing where the snow had caked.

And my arms, and my back, my fingers and thumb,
My shoulders and neck, I was really quite numb.
I cleared off Mum�s car, and the walk to the door,
I worked and I worked, and still there was more.

And then, came a rumbling, I heard down the street,
An odd sort of rhythm, a mechanical beat,
Over my strained shoulder, I looked, as in a dream,
There stood a man with a snow-blowing-machine!

He was dressed all in parka, from his head to his feet,
And introduced himself as the man down the street.
"I noticed you shoveling," he said, his voice low,
"And though you might like some help removing this snow."

He was chubby and plump, his head balding and grey,
But I grinned for he promised to take snow away.
I agreed to it readily, and continued to clear
A path for the postman to bring the mail here.

He said not a word, but went straight to his work,
And I thought how lucky I was, with a smirk.
When he finished, he said goodbye with a wave,
And I thanked him profusely, for my back he did save.

And as he shuffled back to his house,
An idea came upon me, quick as a mouse.
For my essay for English, the rules had been met,
For THAT was the greatest gift I could get.

back || next