Old Memories

08 June, 2002 || 11:09 pm

So it's official. I am going to Canada this summer. From July 27 to August 3. It will be a blast. I can't wait. And apparantly I have forgotton how to write a compound sentence.

I was remembering some old memories today, like this camp I went to. There was a park right across the road with a big iron fence around it. We only had the key to the gate on the other side of the park, so we'd all have to walk all the way around. There was a church nearby, and so all of the kids would try to get into the park before the clock chimed twelve.

The actual building was an old house. When you walked in and turned to the right there was the front room with these gigantic tall windows in the front. If you kept walking back there was a smaller room behind the front one. The back room had a fireplace in it, and a pretty chandelier. There were two massive doors in the back room, one going out into a halway and the other into a kitchen. If you went into the hallway you'd go to the top of the stairs. There was a small alcove at the top of the stairs where there was a papier mache head all decorated with pain and feathers and bead and he like. It was there for years and years, but the last year I went to camp there some jackasses ripped part of the lip off. They caught hell for it, though, so I guess that's a good thing.

At the bottom of the stairs there was a room where they taught painting or cartooning or photography...whatever the space was needed for. If you went past the first room, you'd come to two vending machines. It was popular, when I was there, to buy a soda and not open it all the way - only until you heard the "psssssshhhhhht" sound - an then drink your soda like that. It made the soda last longer because not as much came out at once, and plus you could trick kids into thinking you were giving them a full soda when really it was just an empty can.

Past the vending machines was the dark room and past that was the room where we did clay. Several times they did paper-making in there, which smelled like nothing you've evr smelled before. It was quite gross. Usually it was clay, though, because adjacant to that room was the kiln room, which we were never allowed in (But Beth and I snuck in a couple of times).

That's probably one place I'll always remember. It was an art camp, but they also had a preforming art thing at HVCC, which I also went to. Those two places I spent every summer at from the time I was six until I was 13. Seven summers of my life, and I don't think I ever had a really bad year. It's just one of those places you'll never forget. It's forever linked with memories of my childhood. One time I got scratched by a stray cat in the park, and another, we held a funeral for Harold - a dead flower. I formed a "band" with some girls there - one of whom I still talk to. We were the "Front Street Girls" and it was So Fricking Funny.

But anyway, it's late now, and I have to get up early in the morning...NOTE TO ALL: If you would like a postcard from Qu�bec, email me!!

back || next