The Mendelssohn Concert

17 December, 2001 || 5:06 p.m.

Last Friday, Eileen, Hamida and I went to the Mendelssohn concert. My dad is a member of the Mendelssohn Club, which is a male choir. So, the cocert was on Friday, and my grandpa was going. He invited his little friend "Shannon" who I *really* can't stand. Her name really is "Shannon," I just hate her so much I'm putting her name in quotes. In fact, she shall henceforth be known as "She who I *really* can't stand." So She who I *really* can't stand was supposed to come to the concert, but she copped out at the last minute saying "oooh, oops, I have a basketball game I have to cheerlead for, so I can't come...sorry"

I mean, HONESTLY! Duh! You're in high school, there's a basketball game EVERY Friday!! It's not like your "coach" (*that's* in quotes b/c cheerleading isn't really a sport, so you can't really have a coach) so it's not like one's "coach" is going to tell you on, like Thursday night, "Okay, grrrrrls *gigglegiggle* - we've all got to be here tomorrow so we can distract our boys with our ugly naked wiggling asses!"

So, anyway, She who I *really* can't stand didn't come (angels begin the singing) so I invited Hamida. We had a lot of fun. The guest artist wore REALLY ugly dresses. Like, she should have been hanged by the Fashion Police along with whatever designer created those dresses. *shudder*

We went to the Afterglow where we got to hear a bunch of drunk old men sing Christmas carols. It was *rather* funny. Phil Curley (yes - that's his *real* name - not as cool as Pete Petrie - who's *also* a real person, but still) he told some pretty funny jokes about a list of "recalled" Christmas toys. My favorite was the Fermaphrodite Barbie. I don't think that's how you spell Fermaphrodite, but it's close enough.

Also at the afterglow, the Club sang their traditional "Drink a Highball" which is pretty funny. I'll put the lyrics below.

So *then* we came home, and hung out in the basement, playing the game of Life, in which I was married to a Rather Hot Guy, while we waited for Farmer Boy to come online so we could torment him. He never did come online.

*Then* we watched "Austin Powers: the Spy who Shagged Me" which I hadn't seen before.

I fell asleep at 3.

Drink a highball

At nightfall

(some words that I forget...)

For tomorrow may bring sorrow, so tonight, let's all be Gay....

Tell a story, of the glory,

Of each and every one.....

Drink a highball, at Nightfall.....

Here's a toast to Mendelssohn!!!

back || next