Les Parapluies de Cherbourg

28 December, 2002 || 9:57 pm

Holy cow....I just watched The Umbrellas of Cherbourg. What a movie....it's just exactly what I needed to watch, tonight. An incredibly romantic-bordering-on-sappy-love story. I loved it. It was so sad, so romantic. It's in french. And the whole thing is sung, like an opera, but musically more styles like a musical. It was fantastic. And so sad. And so romantic.

Sigh.

Oh, what a movie. Two young people, Guy and Genevieve, and they're in love. She's 17, he's 20, they want to get married, but her mother won't let them. Then he has to go away to war for two years. As he's boarding the train, he keeps singing "M'amour!" ("my love!") and she responded "je t'aime!" ("I love you"!") over and over again and it was so romantic I almost cried.

back || next