Here's your answer

05 March, 2002 || 3:55 p.m.

Before I begin, I want to say, Jen - I am so so so so so so so so sorry about the "no." Like, really really really sorry.

Okay, Eileen, I know I should be nice to you and everything, since it is your birthday, and I know that you are allowed to write whatever the hell you want to, but keep in mind that I am also allowed to discuss anything you wrote.

Your last entry was, in my opinion, highly offensive.

I really don't give a crap if you don't believe in God. But I think that you have some major things wrong.

First of all, religion IS NOT about being told what is right and wrong. Religion is about having faith in something that makes you feel not so alone. It's about knowing that there is something else out there, something higher and more significant, something that better fits the big picture.

You ask what happened to the ability to think for oneself. The ability never left. We are still able to think for ourselves, make our own choices, we always have been able to and we always will. That's what makes us human.

You said "Who needs some old guy to tell you gays are bad... not to have an abortion...the Earth was created in 7 days..." I found that awful. "Some old guy"?? "Some old guy"?? That's what God means to you? Okay, okay, I promised myself I wouldn't preach in this, and to emember that you are 100% intitled to believe whatever you want, but what you said....

Saying "some old guy" about God because you don't believe in Him would be like someone going around calling black people "nigger." It just isn't...ARG!

Okay, sorry. Let me get back on track and try not to get mad at someone.

In your list of "rules" you give a reason for each why they are crappy rules and why they definatly don't apply to you. You first saying was that homosexuals weren't bad. I AGREE 120%!!!!!! Next you said that you were pro-choice. SO AM I!!!!! Then, you said that you were an evolutionist. Guess what? ME TOO!!! Yet just because many Christians don't believe that God wants these things, I still believe in Him!! Even if that's true and God is against all of those things (which I doubt) He isn't the kind of being that would damn everyone all to hell who disagrees with Him.

If He wanted us to all be a puppet, as you say, He wouldn't have given us free will. I believe that God loves us no matter what. Think about that - what it would be like to have a child that you loved SO SO much. And now, you have the power to do WHATEVER THE HELL YOU WANT. Now, some people feel threatened by your child, so they deside to kill him. You could stop it, but you know that if your kid dies, everybody else from now until FOREVER will not suffer.

Imagine having something that you loved so much, and then giving it up for everybody else. Imagine how much you would have to love everybody else in order to allow the loss of what you love most.

I believe that God loves us more than anything - whether we're Christian or Jewish or Muslim or Hindu or "religion-less" or WHATEVER. I believe that he loves us so much, he wouldn't car if we're gay, or have an abortion, or don't believe every frickin word in the Bible, Torah, Koran. I believe that there is a hell, but there's nobody in it because God always loves us and always givs us the chance to be forgiven.

Now, I realize that I may have gotten a bit over zealous in this entry, but I figure if you are allowed to say something I don't want to hear, I am allowed to say something you don't want to hear.

And, please don't think that I don't respect your choice to not follow a particular religion, but I would like to have your respect for following a religion, and for believing.

back || next